Boilers and Boiler Safety
On this page:
Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about obtaining a TDLR license or renewing a TDLR license that expired while serving on active duty, please go to the Military Outreach home page.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Stay up-to-date on recent developments with email notifications. Get info on changes to laws and rules, important notices, upcoming meetings, and more.
Technical Gram Concerning Hurricane Harvey: Boiler Extensions
September 20, 2017
On September 20, 2017, TDLR issued a Boiler Technical Gram concerning Hurricane Harvey: Boiler Extensions. The Technical Gram provides the conditions under which boilers with extensions and affected by Hurricane Harvey may still have their next extension approved.
TDLR recommends owners of all affected boilers and anyone interested in TDLR's boiler program read the full text of the technical gram.
Technical Gram Concerning Hotsy Boilers Texas Special Designation
September 19, 2017
On September 19, 2017, TDLR issued new boiler technical gram 2017-04 concerning Hotsy Boilers being given a Texas Special designation. These high temperature water boilers are part of Hotsy pressure washer systems; the tech gram assists inspectors in performing inspections. TDLR recommends all Boiler Inspectors and anyone interested in TDLR's boiler program read the full text of the technical gram.
Update on Recovering Boiler Systems After A Flood
August 31, 2017
Technical Gram Concerning Proper Venting Requirements
August 7, 2017
On August 7, 2017, TDLR issued a boiler program technical gram concerning Proper Venting Requirements, Applicable to Extensions Only (Texas Boiler Rule 16 TAC Section 65.606). This technical gram clarifies that Section 65.606 of the Texas Boiler Rules only applies when an extension has been granted. This information was erroneously omitted during a 2015 rulemaking. TDLR recommends all boiler owners, operators, and inspectors, as well as anyone interested in TDLR's boiler program read the full text of the technical gram at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/boilers/memos/2017-02%20Proper%20Venting%20-%20Extension%20Only.pdf.
Technical Gram Concerning PHP Boilers
August 7, 2017
On August 7, 2017, TDLR issued a boiler program technical gram concerning PHP Boilers. The technical gram discusses the de-rating of certain non-ASME Code boilers installed in Texas over the last 5 years. TDLR recommends that all boiler inspectors and anyone interested in TDLR's boiler program read the full text of the technical gram at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/boilers/memos/2017-03%20PHP%20Boilers.pdf
Updates to Texas Health and Safety Code
June 1, 2017
House Bill 3257 passed by the 85th Texas Legislature, amended Health and Safety Code, Chapter 755, relating to the regulation and inspection of boilers. House Bill 3257 and the changes to Chapter 755 became effective May 29, 2017. TDLR encourages all persons interested in the Boiler program to review the updated Health and Safety Code, Chapter 755.
Lunch and Learn Hosted March 29th, 2017
April 5, 2017
Willbanks & Associates hosted a lunch and learn on Wednesday, March 29th, 2017 in Austin, TX to give their customers, including mechanical contractors and engineers, an opportunity to learn about recent Texas boiler law updates. Rob Troutt, Chief Boiler Inspector of Texas, joined Willbanks & Associates’ lunch & learn to discuss the 2016 Texas Boiler Law and Rules updates and how to complete the two new forms required for boiler installations in Texas; the Boiler Installation Report (BIR) and the Temporary Operating Permit (TOP). (read the full story)
Revised Texas Administrative Boiler Rules
June 16, 2015
On March 6, 2015, the Advisory Board on Boiler Rules recommended the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopt a completely revised version of the Texas Administrative Boiler Rules. The Commission adopted these rules, which went into effect on June 15, 2015.
The revision includes a complete reformatting and adds new requirements. TDLR recommends owners, operators and installers of boilers in Texas review the newly adopted Texas Administrative Boiler Rules in their entirety.
Some but not all of the new requirements include:
- As of January 1, 2016, if your boiler goes over 90 days overdue, the Boiler Program will assign the required Certificate inspection to be completed by either a Deputy Boiler Inspector or an Authorized Inspection Agency. The owner will be required to pay a $260.00 Boiler Inspection Fee (to the agency that conducts the inspection) as well as a $70.00 late fee. This is in addition to the $70.00 Certificate of Operation fee that is normally charged. This requirement can be found in sections 65.91 and 65.300 (j).
- The re-use of gaskets or sealing compounds on Manholes and Handholes of Boilers is prohibited. This can be found in sections 65.210 (b) (11) (A), (B) and (C).
- There is now a fee associated with the following (see section 65.300):
- Boiler Installation Reports--$25
- All chimney and vents shall be installed in accordance with Boiler Manufacturer recommendations and Chimney/Vent Manufacturer recommendations. This can be found in section 65.602.
- Changes were made to ventilation requirements (see section 65.603):
- For two openings, one commencing not more than 12 inches from the ceiling of the room and one commencing not more than 12 inches from the floor of the room, the opening shall be sized on the basis of one square inch of free area for each 3,000 Btu/hour input per opening of the combined burners located in the boiler room.
- Requirements were added for boilers of a Sealed Combustion Design, also referred to as Condensing Boilers. When boilers of a seal combustion design are installed, the boiler room is required to either meet the requirements listed above or have a Carbon Monoxide Detector installed. The detector is required to secure the boiler if the power is lost to the boiler or carbon monoxide reaches 100 parts per million. The Carbon Monoxide Detector is also required to be calibrated every 18 months.
- For a single uninterrupted air supply, no change was made.
- For power ventilators, no change was made.
Any questions regarding these rules may be submitted to firstname.lastname@example.org or call 512-539-5716.
Board of Boiler Rules Meetings
Meeting September 19, 2017
The Board of Boiler Rules met September 19 in Austin. The agenda and staff reports are available online. Due to technical difficulties, the meeting was not broadcast live, but it was recorded and will be posted on TDLR's YouTube channel as soon as possible.
What is a Boiler?
Equipment that falls within the scope of the Texas Boiler Law and Rules, that must be registered and inspected, is defined in both the law and rules. This means all types of boilers that are used in commercial and public facilities that produce steam (either low or high pressure), hot water heating for use in comfort air heating systems, and hot water supply for use in domestic water systems (such as showers, sinks, pools, or for miscellaneous use) which includes potable hot water heater type boilers. Boilers used for hot water supply or potable hot water supply can be further defined in the following two (2) categories:
- A hot water supply boiler means a boiler designed for operation at a pressure not exceeding 160 psig or temperatures not exceeding 250 degrees Fahrenheit at or near the boiler outlet if the boiler's: heat input exceeds 200,000 BTUs per hour; water temperature exceeds 210 degrees Fahrenheit; or nominal water-containing capacity exceeds 120 gallons.
- A potable water heater means a boiler designed for operation at pressures not exceeding 160 psig and water temperatures not exceeding 210 degrees Fahrenheit if the boiler's: heat input exceeds 200,000 BTUs per hour or nominal water-containing capacity exceeds 120 gallons.
Further classification and definitions can be obtained by accessing the Texas Boiler Law and Rules and referring to the definitions in both the law and rules or by calling (800) 722-7843 and a technical representative can assist you with any questions.