Cosmetology Continuing Education
List of registered Continuing Education providers and courses for Cosmetologists
To renew an operator license or an esthetician, manicurist, esthetician/manicurist or eyelash extension specialty license, or a hair weaving or wig specialty certificate, a licensee must complete a total of 4 hours of continuing education through department-approved courses. The continuing education hours must include:
- 1 hour in sanitation required under Texas Occupations Code 1602, 1603 and Chapter 83; and
- 3 hours in any topic listed in Chapter 83, Section 83.120 of the Cosmetology Administrative Rules.
To renew an instructor license, or an esthetician instructor, manicure instructor, esthetician/manicure instructor or eyelash extension instructor specialty license, a licensee must complete a total of 4 hours of continuing education through department-approved courses in the following manner:
1 hour in sanitation, required under Texas Occupations Code 1602, 1603 and Chapter 83; and
3 hours in methods of teaching in accordance with Chapter 83, Section 83.120 of the Cosmetology Administrative Rules.
- A licensee who is at least 65 years old and has held a cosmetology license for at least 15 years is required to complete 1 hour of continuing education in sanitation. Courses must be TDLR-approved courses.
- For a late renewal, the continuing education courses must have been completed within the two year period immediately prior to the date of renewal.
- Licensees may not receive continuing education hours for attending the same course more than once. Further, licensees must retain a copy of the certificate of completion for a course for two years after the date of completion. In conducting any inspection or investigation of the licensee, the Department may examine the licensee’s records to determine compliance.
- Please note that the reporting of continuing education hours is the responsibility of the continuing education provider. The provider must electronically file a course completion report no later than seven days after the course completion date. Licensees may check their hours at the Continuing Education Courses Look Up. If the hours have not been reported, the licensee should contact the provider first to ensure that the hours are reported. If the reporting issue is not resolved, they have the option of filing a complaint.
All cosmetology continuing education courses must include a portion of time for the required human trafficking information, which at a minimum should include:
- activities commonly associated with human trafficking
- recognition of potential victims of human trafficking, and
- methods for assisting victims of human trafficking, including how to report human trafficking.
Human trafficking is modern-day slavery and involves the use of force, fraud, or coercion to obtain some type of labor or commercial sex act. Human trafficking is a hidden crime as victims rarely come forward to seek help because of fear of the traffickers, fear of law enforcement, and/or language barriers.
More information on how to combat human trafficking: