On this page:
Military Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses - For more information about obtaining a TDLR license or renewing a TDLR license that expired while serving on active duty, please go to the Military Outreach home page.
The Dietitians program licenses and regulates dietitians in Texas. A license is required to use the titles "Licensed Dietitian" and "Provisionally Licensed Dietitian." A license is not required to use the titles "Dietitian" or "Nutritionist."
"Dietetics" means the professional discipline of applying and integrating scientific principles of food, nutrition, biochemistry, physiology, management, and behavioral and social sciences under different health, social, cultural, physical, psychological, and economic conditions for the proper nourishment, care, and education of an individual or group throughout the life cycle to achieve and maintain human health. The term includes the development, management, and provision of nutrition services.
Sign Up for Email Updates
Sign up to receive Dietitians program email updates. You will receive notices about rules, the law, fees, examination requirements, meetings and more. Email updates are the best way for you to stay informed.
News and Updates
TDLR proposes Dietitians Administrative Rules
March 16, 2018
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation proposes amendments to the Dietitians program rules (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 116, Subchapter A, §116.2; Subchapter C, §116.20; Subchapter D; §116.30, Subchapter E; §§116.40, 116.44; Subchapter F, §116.50; Subchapter I, §116.80, §116.83; Subchapter J, §116.91; Subchapter K, §§116.100, 116.101, 116.103, 116.104, 116.105; Subchapter L, §116.110; Subchapter M, §116.120; Subchapter N, §116.130; Subchapter O, §116.142 and repeals Subchapter E, §§116.41, 116.43; Subchapter G, §§116.60 - 116.65; Subchapter H, §116.70). The proposed rules implement changes from House Bill 4007, 85th Legislature, Regular Session (2017), which eliminates unnecessary and outdated rules regarding the required preplanned professional experience programs and internships to reflect current industry practice; and make clean-up changes to the current rules identified by Department staff.
The proposed rules are published in the March 16, 2018, issue of the Texas Register (43 TexReg 1544). The Department will accept comments on the proposal until April 16, 2018.
TDLR Health Monitor - Q1, 2018
February 21, 2018
TDLR publishes the TDLR Health Monitor, a quarterly newsletter with news and information about the health and medical-related programs under the TDLR umbrella. This issue was published on February 16, 2018 and you can read it online.
TDLR Health Monitor - Q4, 2017
November 2, 2017
TDLR publishes the TDLR Health Monitor, a quarterly newsletter with news and information about the health and medical-related programs under the TDLR umbrella. The first issue was published on November 2, 2017 and you can read it online.
Dietitians: One Year Update
October 3, 2017
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, transferring the Dietitians program from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR). The program transfer to TDLR took place in October 2016.
As part of our mission to deliver improved service to Texans at a lower cost, TDLR reduced the following fees for the Dietitians program:
|Dietitians||Previous Fee||TDLR Fee||$ Reduced||% Reduced|
|License Verification Fee||$25||$0||$25||100%|
We’ve also reduced processing and administrative fees for each online transaction. Thanks to these reductions, Texas Dietitians kept $3,106.50 in their pockets in their first year at TDLR. (October 2016 – September 2017)
In addition, TDLR reduced the word count in the Dietitians program administrative rules to make them clear, concise, and easier to read--without impacting their effectiveness:
|Administrative Rules Word Count||19,481||9,524||9,957||51%|
At TDLR, one of our core values is open and free communication. During this first year, 2,575 Dietitians program email subscribers were contacted 13 times (38,625 emails delivered), with information about meetings, rule changes, licensing, and more. In addition, all interested parties were invited to four public meetings of the Dietitians Advisory Board.
TDLR is delivering on our promise to promote transparency and accountability, protect the health and safety of all Texans, and eliminate unnecessary barriers to doing business. We look forward to serving you, and always appreciate any feedback at: email@example.com
Notice of Vacancy on the Dietitians Advisory Board
September 27, 2017
TDLR announces a vacancy on the Dietitians Advisory Board (Board) established by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 701. The purpose of the Dietitians Advisory Board is to provide advice and recommendations to the Department on technical matters relevant to the administration of this chapter. This announcement is for a public member.
The Board consists of the following nine members appointed by the presiding officer of the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission), with the approval of the Commission:
1. six licensed dietitians, each of whom has been licensed under Chapter 701 for not less than three years before the member's date of appointment; and
In appointing dietitian members to the advisory board, the presiding officer of the commission shall attempt to maintain balanced representation among the following primary areas of expertise included in the professional discipline of dietetics:
(d) consultation; and
2. three members who represent the public.
Members serve staggered six-year terms. The terms of three members begin on September 1 of each odd-numbered year.
Interested persons should submit an application on the Department website. Applicants can also request an application from the Department by telephone (800) 803-9202 or e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Important Information for Healthcare Facilities Seeking to Use Out-Of-State Healthcare Providers to Assist With Hurricane Harvey Disaster Response
September 14, 2017
On September 3, in accordance with Sections 418.016 and 418.171 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Greg Abbott temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules to allow a healthcare professional licensed and in good standing in another state to practice in various facilities in Texas to assist with disaster response operations for Hurricane Harvey.
The suspension allows a healthcare provider who holds a license, certificate, or other permit issued by another state jurisdiction satisfying qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills to render aid in this state to meet an emergency or disaster.
This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires.
For the healthcare provider types listed below, a healthcare facility must submit to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) by email each out-of-state provider’s name, license type, state of licensure, and license identification number to: Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov
TDLR licenses the following healthcare providers:
- Athletic Trainers
- Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners
- Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers
- Orthotists and Prosthetists
- Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
If you have questions or need assistance, please call (800) 803-9202 between 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. CDT or email Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov.
Advisory Board Meetings
Next Meeting - May 3, 2018
The Dietitians Advisory Board is scheduled to meet Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. in the 1st Floor Public Meeting Room of TDLR's North Campus, located at 1106 Clayton Lane, Suite 125E, in Austin. When the agenda and staff reports are available, they will be posted online. The meeting will be broadcast on TDLR's YouTube channel.
Previous Meeting - February 27, 2018