Architectural Barriers Penalties and Sanctions

Elimination of Architectural Barriers (EAB)

Texas Government Code, Chapter 469

16 Texas Administration Code, Chapter 68

Cases Against Building Owners

Class A:

1st Violation, $500 to $3,000

2nd Violation, $1,500 to $4,000

3rd Violation, $2,500 to $5,000

  • Failure to pay inspection fee - 469.054(b), 68.80(a)
  • Failure to submit plan review fee and project filing fee - 469.054(b), 68.80(a)
  • Failure to submit all plans and specifications for construction - 469.102(a)
  • .Failure to submit proof to the City that facility plans have been submitted to TDLR - 469.102(c)
  • Failure to resubmit for review and approval previously-approved plans to which a substantial modification has been made - 469.103
  • Failure to have project inspected for TAS compliance within one year of the completion of construction - 469.105(a), 68.52(a)
  • Failure to mail, ship, or hand-deliver construction documents to the Department, a registered accessibility specialist or a contract provider when required - 68.50(b)
  • Failure to submit a project registration form or confirmation page for each subject building or facility and/or the applicable fees when the design professional or owner submits the construction documents - 68.50(c)
  • Failure to request an inspection of project within 30 days after the completion of construction - 68.52(a)
  • Failure to pay late project filing fee - 68.80(e)
Class B:

1st Violation, $1,000 to $3,000

2nd Violation, $2,000 to $4,000

3rd Violation, $4,000 to $5,000

  • Failure to submit verification of TAS corrections - 68.53(3)
  • Violated the TAS - 68.90(a)