Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers
On this page:
Sign Up for Email Updates
Stay up-to-date on recent developments with email notifications. Get info on changes to laws and rules, important notices, upcoming meetings, and more.
News and Updates
TDLR Health Monitor - August 2018 Edition
September 1, 2018
Articles in this August 2018 edition of The Health Monitor include an update on behavior analyst licensing; online supervision reporting for audiologists; TDLR’s Strategic Plan for 2019-2023; rule amendments for the mold program and orthotists and prosthetists program; criminal conviction guidelines for registered sanitarians and code enforcement officers; information for dietitians on telehealth practices; and outreach activities.
The TDLR Health Monitor is a quarterly newsletter that provides news and information about TDLR’s medical and health-related programs. Archives of past editions of the TDLR Health Monitor can be viewed here.
Adoption of Proposed Administrative Rules
April 30, 2018
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation adopted amendments to existing rules regarding the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers program (16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 112, Subchapter A, §112.2; Subchapter B, §112.10; Subchapter C, §§112.21, 112.22, 112.23, 112.24, and 112.26; Subchapter D, §§112.30, 112.32, and 112.33; Subchapter E, §112.40 and §112.42; Subchapter H, §112.70; Subchapter I, §112.80; Subchapter J, §112.92 and §112.95; Subchapter L, §112.110; Subchapter M, §112.120; and Subchapter N, §112.130; and repeal Subchapter N, §112.133). The justification for adoption and the new rule chapter are online.
Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers: One Year Update
October 18, 2017
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, transferring the Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers program from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR).
The program transfer took place in October 2016. As part of our mission to deliver improved services at a lower cost to Texans, TDLR reduced the following fees for the Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers program:
|Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers||DSHS Fee||TDLR Fee||$ Reduced||% Reduced|
|Full License (Two-Year License)||$405||$205||$200||49%|
|License Renewal fee (Two-Year Term)||$405||$205||$200||49%|
|Continuing Education Sponsor||$500||$200||$300||60%|
|Continuing Education Sponsor Renewal||$500||$200||$300||60%|
|Practical Examination Retake Fee||$125||$100||$25||20%|
|License Verification Fee||$10||$0||$10||100%|
|Criminal History Evaluation Letter||$50||$25||$25||50%|
We’ve also reduced processing and administrative fees for each online transaction. Thanks to these reductions, Texas Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers kept $84,087.50 in their pockets in their first year at TDLR. (October 2016 – September 2017)
In addition, TDLR reduced the word count in the Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers program administrative rules to make them clear, concise, and easier to read--without impacting their effectiveness:
|Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers||DSHS Rules||TDLR Rules||Word Difference||% Reduced|
|Administrative Rules Word Count||21,047||11,365||9,682||46%|
At TDLR, one of our core values is open and free communication. During this first year, the 3,871 Hearing Instrument Fitters & Dispensers program email subscribers were contacted 13 times (50,323 emails delivered) so that we could share information about meetings, rule changes, licensing, and more. And beginning in November 2015, all interested parties have been invited to six public meetings of the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Advisory Board.
TDLR is delivering on our promise to promote transparency and accountability, protect the health and safety of all Texans, and eliminate unnecessary barriers to doing business. We look forward to serving you for many years to come, and always appreciate any feedback at: CS.Hearing.Fitters@tdlr.texas.gov.
Important Information for Healthcare Facilities Seeking to Use Out-Of-State Healthcare Providers to Assist with Hurricane Harvey Disaster Response
September 14, 2017
On September 3, in accordance with Sections 418.016 and 418.171 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Greg Abbott temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules to allow a healthcare professional licensed and in good standing in another state to practice in various facilities in Texas to assist with disaster response operations for Hurricane Harvey.
The suspension allows a healthcare provider who holds a license, certificate, or other permit issued by another state jurisdiction satisfying qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills to render aid in this state to meet an emergency or disaster.
This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires.
For the healthcare provider types listed below, a healthcare facility must submit to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) by email each out-of-state provider’s name, license type, state of licensure, and license identification number to: Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov
TDLR licenses the following healthcare providers:
- Athletic Trainers
- Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners
- Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers
- Orthotists and Prosthetists
- Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
If you have questions or need assistance, please call (800) 803-9202 between 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. CDT or email Harvey@tdlr.texas.gov.
Advisory Board Meetings
Previous Meeting - May 30, 2018
The Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Advisory Board met May 30, 2018 in Austin. The agenda and staff reports (PDF) are available online. The meeting was archived and is available on TDLR's YouTube channel.