Continuing Education

List of registered CE providers and their courses for Property Tax Professionals

Check the CE courses you have completed

CE Requirements for Certified Appraisers (RPA), Assessors (RTA) and Collectors (RTC)

For Property Tax Professionals the continuing education hours must be completed during the 24 month period before the expiration of the registration. For example, if your registration expiration date is March 31, 2012, only CE courses taken between March 31, 2010 and March 31, 2012 will apply toward the CE hours for renewal of your registration. At your March 31, 2013 expiration, only courses taken between March 31, 2011 and March 31, 2013 will apply. There is always an overlapping 12-month period where CEs will be counted.

If you achieved your certification before the certification deadline date, continuing education is not required until the second renewal after your certification deadline date.

A registrant may not receive continuing education credit for attending the same department-numbered course more than once within the two-year period prior to the date of renewal. For a late renewal, the continuing education hours must have been completed within the two-years period prior to the date of renewal.

Core education courses may be completed for CE credit. See PTAD's web page for details. Passing a course examination will not change the number of hours earned.

The following hours of continuing education must be completed to renew a registration:

Registered Professional Appraiser (RPA)

30 hours total of CE including:

  • 2 hours in professional ethics
  • The approved State laws and rules update course (see State Laws and Rules Update Course section below)
  • 3.5 hours of USPAP

RPAs that are Chief Appraisers and renew their registration after January 1, 2015 must complete:

  1. At least 30 hours of approved continuing education in appraisal procedures and methods, tax assessment and collection, professional ethics, laws and rules, USPAP or customer service.
  2. At least half of the 30 hours must be in programs devoted to one or more of the topics listed in Texas Occupation Code ยง1151.164(b). Any Tax Assessment and Collections course hours will not be used to fulfill this half of the Chief Appraisers continuing education requirement; and
  3. At least two of the required hours in a program of professional ethics specific to the chief appraiser of an appraisal district, including a program on the importance of maintaining the independence of an appraisal office from political pressure.
Registered Texas Assessor Collector (RTA)

30 hours total of CE including:

  • 2 hours in professional ethics
  • The approved State laws and rules update course (see State Laws and Rules Update Course section below)
Registered Texas Collector (RTC)

10 hours total of CE including:

  • 2 hours in professional ethics
  • The approved State laws and rules update course (see State Laws and Rules Update Course section below)

State Laws and Rules Update Course

The State laws and rules update changes each legislative session. It includes a detailed summary of bills passed in the previous legislative session affecting the Property Tax Professionals industry. The course must be approved by the Texas Comptroller's Property Tax Assistance Division (PTAD) and offered by an approved TDLR Property Tax Professional CE Provider. A registrant's completion of the course is noted in the registrant's continuing education summary web page under the column heading of 'State Law/Rules Update.'

See the List of Registered CE Providers and Their Courses to determine if a course is approved and offered by an registered provider.

Reporting of CE hours

Reporting of CE courses/hours is the responsibility of the CE provider with a few exceptions. Those exceptions are continuing education courses through the Appraisal Foundation (TAF), the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) or the Appraisal Institute (AI). You will be provided a completion certificate by the education provider. You should scan the completion certificate and e-mail it to TDLR at ce@tdlr.texas.gov with the request for CE accreditation. Those three organizations will not input completed CE courses into TDLR's CE database.

You can use the Continuing Education Courses Look Up to review the courses reported to TDLR for you. If your courses have not been reported, contact the provider.

Direct general questions and comments to cs.tax.professionals@tdlr.texas.gov.