Property Tax Professionals Core Education

Check the core courses you have completed

Course provider posting system

Reporting of core education courses is the responsibility of the Core Course Provider. Registrants may check the courses that have been posted using the link above. If a course has not been posted, registrants should first contact the course provider. If the reporting issue is not resolved, registrants may file a complaint against the provider.

Property Tax Professionals CORE Provider Application Instructions (67 KB PDF)

Property Tax Professionals CORE Provider Application (106 KB PDF)

To become a property tax professional CORE course provider, you will need to submit a completed CORE provider application, business plan and a copy of your attendance verification document. Above will find the application and instructions on completing the form.

Required Education Topics and Examinations for Certification after January 1, 2014

Appraiser - Minimum 3 years, maximum 5 years to complete the following requirements:
Class 2 (must be completed within 12 months of becoming registered as Class 1 Appraiser):

  • 32 hours of Basics of Texas Property Tax System
  • 8 hours of Professional Ethics

Class 3 (must be completed within 36 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Appraiser):

  • 18 hours of Income Approach to Value
  • 18 hours of Theory and Practice of Personal Property Appraisal
  • 15 hours of Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practices (USPAP)
  • 24 hours in Theory and Practice of Appraisal of Real Property
  • Class 3 Examination

Class 4 (must be completed within 60 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Appraiser and cannot be earned until the registrant has 36 months of experience as an Appraiser registrant.)

  • 18 hours in Analyzing Real Property Appraisal
  • 16 hours in Texas Property Tax Law
  • 18 hours in Mass Appraisal
  • 3.5 hours in USPAP (if no USPAP within 2 years)
  • Class 4 Examination

Assessor/Collector - Minimum 3 years, maximum 5 years to complete the following requirements:
Class 2 (must be completed within 12 months of becoming registered as Class 1 Assessor Collector):

  • 32 hours of Basics of Texas Property Tax System
  • 8 hours of Professional Ethics

Class 3 (must be completed within 36 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Assessor Collector):

  • 16 hours in Texas Property Tax Law
  • 18 hours in Assessment and Collection

Class 4 (must be completed within 60 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Assessor Collector and cannot be earned until the registrant has 36 months of experience as an Assessor/Collector registrant.)

  • 18 hours in Advanced Assessment and Collections
  • 12 hours in Truth in Taxation (Not required if Assessing and Collecting (Course 8) was taken prior to 1/1/2010)
  • Class 4 Examination

Collector - Minimum two (2) years, maximum three (3) years to complete the following requirements:
Class 2 (Must be completed within 12 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Collector):

  • 32 hours of Basics of Texas Property Tax System
  • 8 hours of Professional Ethics

Class 3 (Must be completed within 36 months of becoming registered as a Class 1 Collector and cannot be earned until the registrant has 24 months of experience as a Collector registrant):

  • 16 hours in Texas Property Tax Law
  • 18 hours in Assessment and Collection
  • 18 hours in Advanced Assessment and Collections
  • Class 3 Examination